“Kiss The Joy As It Flies: The Art Of Incrementality”

A few years ago an InterPlay friend of mine gave me a refrigerator magnet that says “What if the Hokey Pokey really is what it’s all about?” I laughed out loud when I read it and remember thinking playfully that that notion is as fine a philosophy to ponder in this life time as any other! Especially knowing the power of incrementality to create ease and grace in our lives.

You put your right hand in
You put your right hand out
You put your right had in
And you shake it all about
You do the Hokey Pokey
And you turn your self around
That’s what it’s all about!

You put your left hand in
You put your left hand out
You put your left had in
And you shake it all about
You do the Hokey Pokey
And you turn your self around
That’s what it’s all about!

How easy is that?!

It takes awhile with the Hokey Pokey, good incremental dance that it is, to at last get your whole body in and out and in and shaken all about, but eventually it does happen. And by then every part of you is ready to be shaken with every other part. Wheeeeeee!

When I was 6 months pregnant with my son Logan I attended a dance party with some wonderfully wild friends of mine and we did the Hokey Pokey. I remember so clearly, after putting my hands and feet and legs and arms in, putting my slowly expanding belly in… and out… and in… and shaking it all about! This child that was growing just south of my heart was the embodied wisdom of incrementality at its finest. And I imagined its little hands and feet dancing away with me in that moment, hoping that the dance in me was  being passed on in those incremental Hokey Pokey steps.

Incrementality, the art of putting “one foot in front of the other,” lends itself so fully to bringing our bodyspirits into each moment. It is not only a way to build something piece by piece, to create something idea by idea, to work toward something step by step, it also gives us  the capacity to be here! and then be here! and then be here! While we are working, building, creating! It teaches us the art of  dancing with each moment as it comes up, and how to kiss the joy as it flies!

Kiss the joy as it flies! The first time I heard this I laughed out loud in knowing delight. It is such a great cross between the Buddhist understanding of impermanence and the InterPlay understanding of grace. Everything changes and ease gives us the capacity to dance in each moment, the possibility of being with the change, being in the change, even being the change.

In five weeks I drive my son to college. After 18 years of incremental parenting he is ready to launch, and I am once again reminded, in the most startling of ways, just how the joy flies.

You put your whole body in
You put your whole body out
You put your whole body in
And you shake it all about
You do the Hokey Pokey
And you turn yourself around
Kiss the joy as it flies
That’s what it’s all about!

Leave a Reply

