The Mystery of No Frills to Reveal the Unbelievable Beauty of Being Human!

When ever I do the InterPlay form Walking, Stopping and Running with No Frills, which is as often as I can in InterPlay (interplay.org) community, I find myself wishing that everyday could be walk, stop, run with no frills. This might come as a surprise to people who know me well, because I am a frills kinda gal. I believe it is all in the details, and I can often be observed studying details of art and architecture, flora and fauna, food and even everyday life functions. I am fascinated with the way details make up the whole and how, when all the details are in place, even someone who is not necessarily taken with them or even notices them can feel the influence.  And I take great care in my home life, in my art work and in my teaching to make sure the details are where I think they belong, as I have come to know this is one of the things that creates ease, beauty and peace.

So how could it be that this no frills version of walk, stop and run has its way with me.

The InterPlay Walking, Stopping and Running form by its nature is very playful. You walk when you want to, run when you want to, stop when you want to. You can skip and jump, leap and spin, swing, make shapes and anything else a body can do. You can also play with others, or simply be in stillness and watch others play. It is a delightful and fun way to build, and feel connected to, community!

In the No Frills version all of the messing around with jumping, spinning, swinging and anything else that isn’t walking, stopping and running is dropped. The agreement is to simply walk, run or be still. At first sight it seems very limiting. Not many choices, one might think. No real opportunity to express oneself, be creative, play with others.  Its real gift can be easily missed. However if you are willing to really give yourself to its simple mystery, you will find that Walking, Running and Stopping with No Frills is sneaky deep!

I have come to discover
the vast detail
in the simplicity of No Frills.
Now walking and noticing my own stride.
Ease.
Now walking side by side with another and noticing “our” stride.
The third thing.
Now I run ahead, noticing the growing distance between us,
still feeling comforting connection.
Now feeling another join me in running.
I love when I am joined.
Now walking and feeling another run by,
the breath from their running caressing me.
Now noticing my body in stillness as others walk past,
or run past
or simply stand next to me. With me.
We are one bodyspirit playing.
Now noticing when I choose to follow, how satisfying it feels.
Now noticing when I choose to simply witness.
It feels equally satisfying.
Now noticing how easily entertained I am by any of the choices I make.
And how much I delight in getting to know my playmates by
simply walking, running and being still with them.
By simply being in easy relationship with them.
By simply being.
I laugh out loud, wondering if my laughter is a frill!

This is the gift of No Frills… a deep knowing that I am not separate from this world and my fellow playmates… I am very much connected, inter-related. I belong. Never underestimate our need for assurance. This simple form, with its capacity to reveal how profoundly we are in fact connected through the very dance of its simplicity, gives this assurance. In the relationships that are created by simply being together, we get to witness the unbelievable beauty of human beings in the simplest, no frills version of who we are.

Now that is what I would like to carry around in my bodyspirit everyday!

4 Comments

  1. Tanya said,

    July 9, 2009 at 6:00 am

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself have been trying to solve the mystery of this legend for a while now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

  2. Catharine said,

    July 10, 2009 at 3:12 am

    Your words describe so eloquently the depth of the simplicity I too,have felt while participating in this form. Thank you.

  3. Anita Doyle said,

    July 22, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    No Frills
    Walk Run Stop
    Stop Stop Stop
    Walk Stop Walk
    Stop Stop Run
    Walk Run Run
    Run Run Run
    Stop Walk Stop
    Stop Walk Stop
    Run Stop Stop
    Stop Stop Stop
    Stop Stop Stop
    Stop Stop Stop
    Stop Stop Stop
    Breath
    Thanks CathyAnn. No Frills is always my favorite form for all the reasons you gave. Great writing.

  4. Celia Swanson said,

    August 27, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks, CathyAnn, for a lovely articulation of this wonderful form! As you know, it’s one of my favorites, too. I had a thought about it the other day. RWS No-Frills is sort of like Amish/mission style furniture: clean lines, serene simplicity, strength, subtle beauty.

    When I do No Frills, I relish in how my attention to details is actually heightened. Because I do not have as many distractions (either from the other bodies or from my own body), I pay closer attention to the overlooked things, like the sound of my breath, the squeak of feet on the floor, the sensation of air moving when someone dashes by me, the warmth of someone’s body as they stand near me, the scent of someone’s hair as they stand in front of me, the way my whole body can sense the shape of the bodies in the space. Delicious!

    While RWS with Frills is silly, manic fun at times (and occasionally creates amazing synchronicity and beauty), I find No Frills to be a far better form for creating Group Body and full-body awareness. My entire skin surface lights up!


Leave a Reply

